Recreation seekers from around the world find their way to Conn, including tourists from China and Japan.
What resembles an Asian symbol is actually the house mark of the Casty family. All property, whether livestock, tools, or household effects, were once marked with this symbol.
A witness to an old custom. Conn.
The year: 1935
The person: Vinzens Casty, builder of the restaurant Conn.
The occasion: the 50-km Swiss Championship in cross-country skiing.
The site: Conn Sura, kilometer mark 42.
The condition: still very lively.
Several years have passed since then. Much more than the garments and materials has changed.
However, one aspect remains unchanged: the surroundings are still as beautiful today as they were back then. Conn.
The hydraulic ram is a water pump invented by Montgolfier. Aided by a valve system and a pressure vessel it pumps spring water that originates at an altitude several meters above the machine to several meters above the spring water level. The amount of water that is transported upwards is roughly equivalent to one eighth of the water that is required to operate the ram.
This energy-independent pump was installed in Rheinhalde in 1930 to extract drinking water that was lacking in Conn. After Conn was connected to the Flims water system in 1966, this ingenious machine was no longer required.
Years later, Albert Breitenmoser and his son Marco tried to restart the ram. However, this undertaking was only partially successful. The ram's complex principle of operation could no longer be easily reconstructed. Since then it has become silent around the ram in the Conn Rheinhalde.
Hitsch Jösler with his horse Flocko and a timber wagon. Such images have become rare. Machines have long since replaced the horse. Although one can certainly reminisce about "the good old days,"
there is also a positive aspect: today "unemployed" horses no longer take the timber down into the valley but instead guide our dear dear guests around the beautiful Flimser Grosswald forest.
You have undoubtedly noticed a babbling companion in the form of a little brook along the wayside. No wonder: this body of water is being maintained especially for your enjoyment.
The brook is a testimony to the era when not everything was taken for granted. To ensure the water supply for livestock and soil, farmers diverted the water from the Flem above Flims village over a distance of five kilometers to Conn which entailed a long and laborious process.
When viewing the Flimserstein from this perspective, it is reminiscent of a truncated cone with an oblique cut surface. This angle of view makes it easier for the viewer to understand the vastness of the processes that led to the biggest landslide in the Alps 15,000 years ago.
Back then, approximately 15 km3 of rock slid down into the valley along the sloped surface of the Cassons and prevented the Rhine from flowing. As a result, the water was dammed up as far as Disentis and formed a gigantic lake. However, in the course of millennia, the irrepressible erosive force of the water carved its way through the debris.
The result of all of these geological processes is a unique, bizarre canyon landscape at the gateway to the Surselva valley. The Ruinaulta.
Photo: Ch. J. Gilli, Pratval
Lake Cauma. One of the many gems Flims has to offer. Nestled into the Grosswald forest it has enraptured many a hiker and guest. In the late 19th century its water was said to have a curative effect and soon the still legendary bathhouse was built, a floating wooden structure that continuously adapted itself to the changing water levels and incited many a bold lady to jump into the greenish blue waters. One of these daring women was immortalized on celluloid by Jules Geiger in the 1930s. Her silhouette still graces the Flims business card.
Hydrologically, Lake Cauma - devoid of aboveground inflow and outflow - is part of an underground water basin that developed in connection with the prehistoric landslide and remains unparalleled.
Pinut – the historic via ferrata in Flims.
What had previously held existential significance - the alpine meadow "Pinut," surrounded by the imposing rock face of the Flimserstein, provided enough hay to feed a cow through the winter, thereby ensuring food for the family of mountain farmers - became a tourist attraction for Flims around 1900.
With his assistant Alberto Daloli, Christian Meiler built a ladder to the heavens which was likely unique at the time.
After its restoration was spearheaded by the municipality in 2007, the trail became accessible again. Today you can reach the Flimserstein comfortably and safely via the Pinut - assuming you are not afraid of heights.
By the way: long skirts and jackets are no longer mandatory for the ascent.